Guwahati, Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
EC issues notification for LS and Assembly polls in Arunachal
 ITANAGAR, March 18 - Election Commission of India (ECI) today issued the notification for the two parliamentary seats and 60 Assembly constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh.

Arunachal Pradesh goes for simultaneous polls to its 60-member State Assembly and two Lok Sabha seats on April 11, in the first of the seven-phase general elections in the country.

The gazette notification to elect members in the parliamentary constituencies of Arunachal West and Arunachal East has been issued by the President of India on the recommendation of the ECI. Likewise, the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh, vide a separate gazette notification has notified to elect members of the State Assembly from all constituencies of the State.

With the issuance of the notification, the process of filing nominations has begun which would continue till March 25. Scrutiny of the nomination papers will be carried out on March 26, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 28. While polling will take place on April 11 from 7 am to 5 pm, the counting of votes will be taken up on May 23.

Under Section 31 of Representation of People’s Act, 1951, all the Returning Officers of Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies have issued public notices inviting nomination of candidates specifying the place at which the nomination papers are to be delivered. The DC cum DEO, Aalo is the Returning Officer of Arunachal West Parliamentary constituency while DC cum DEO, Tezu is the Returning Officer of Arunachal East Parliamentary constituency.

“No nominations will be received by the Returning Officers on March 21, 23 and 24, being public holidays under Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act 1881,” it was stated in a press note issued by the State’s Chief Electoral Officer.

Expenditure Observers appointed by the Election Commission have reached the district HQs. The General Observers appointed by the ECI are also likely to reach shortly. The entire process of scrutiny will be done in presence of the General Observers, the note added.

A total of 7,94,162 voters, including 4,01,601 female voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls.

Luguthang polling booth under Mukto constituency in Tawang district is the ‘highest’ polling station which is located at an altitude of about 13,583 feet.

For the first time, the ECI will be using voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) along with electronic voting machines (EVMs) in all 2,202 polling stations spread across the State.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »