Guwahati, Thursday, March 19, 2015
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BTC polls: Cong to contest all 40 seats
 KOKRAJHAR, March 18 The Congress party will contest in all 40 seats in the ensuing BTC election and will try to win all the seats.

 Addressing a rally at Dwimalu ground in Kokrajhar today, Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi expressed his satisfaction over the response of the Congress supporters in the BTC headquarter here where a meeting of the Congress party is held after a period of ten years. He said that the BPF rule for the last ten years has failed to develop in all fronts and the hopes and aspiration of the people living in the BTC areas has been shattered.

He said that the Congress party has decided to form the next council government to serve the overall interest of the people of this area and to bring back peace, normalcy and development. He also appealed to the people to exercise their franchise in the BTC election without any fear and assured to provide all necessary security arrangements for free, fair and peaceful election.

Speaking on the occasion APCC president Anjan Dutta said that the Congress party will soon declare the names of the candidates.

Chandi Basumatary, Rockybul Hussain, Chandan Sarkar, Siddik Ahmed, Rakibuddin Ahmed among others also attended and addressed the meeting.

Other Headlines