Guwahati, Monday, March 19, 2012
HomeMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Engineering boys bag title
Sports reporter
 GUWAHATI, March 18 – Assam Engineering College emerged champions in the NEFTi T-20 Cricket Tournament with a 36-run victory against host Netes Institute of Technology and Science (NITS), Mirza at the NITS ground today.

Using the track first, Assam Engineering piled up a challenging total of 157 in 20 overs and bundled out the opponent for 121. Man-of-the-match Manas Pratim Bora of the winning team top scored with 46 while man-of-the-tournament Dibya Jyoti Gogoi offered a healthy contribution of 39 runs. Nirmal Barman was the highest scorer for the host team with an unbeaten 22 as other batsmen fell cheaply. Kandarpa Kalita of NITS and Tapash Biswas of Assam Engineering were adjudged as best batsman and bowler of the tournament respectively.

Altogether eight AICTE approved institutions – NITS Mirza, GIMT, Don Bosco College of Engineering, Regional Institute of Science and Technology, Assam Down Town University, Assam Engineering College, Royal College of Engineering and Scholar Institute of Technology and Management took part in the meet which was organised for the first time by North East Forum for Technical Institutions (NEFTi).

In the closing function, BP Muktieh, CMD of NEDFi, Dr Anup Gogoi, president NETES, Dr Ashwini Kumar Baruah, Principal of NITS, Nripen Patowary, Principal of Assam Engineering College, Debajit Bhuyan, secretary NITS were present as guests and gave away the prizes.

Brief scores: AEC 157/6 (Manas Pratim Bora 46, Dibya Jyoti Gogoi 39, Nitesh Das 20, Kandarpa Kalita 2/34, Bedanga Saikia 2/37). NITS 121 (Mrinal Barman 22, Tapash Biswas 3/19, Milan Medhi 2/15, Dibya Jyoti Gogoi 2/29).

City »
State »
  • Concern over unabated destruction of forests
  • Bid to popularize Suknani Ojapali
  • BJP demands public response from AFC
  • Sonitpur char areas a safe haven for B’deshis
  • Rockybul visits controversial Bardowa areas
  • Film to focus on man-elephant conflict
  • Other Headlines »
    Sports »
  • Cong, BJP can provide stability: Sangma
  • Body formed to fight against Myanmar dam
  • HC issues notice for regularisation of services
  • Kohli powers India to win
  • Assam Rifles outshoot Green Valley, in final
  • Engineering boys bag title

    Download Advertisement Rate Card