Guwahati, Sunday, March 17, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
HSP declares 6 candidates for Sikkim Assembly polls

 GANGTOK, March 16 - Bhaichung Bhutia’s Hamro Sikkim Party (HSP) Friday released its first list of six candidates for the Sikkim Assembly election.

The HSP has fielded its president Bina Basnett from Upper Tafong seat in East district while DS Limboo will be pitted from Yangthang Assembly constituency in West district.

Kamla Rai, a woman social activist will contest from Rangang-Yangyang in South district, the HSP spokesperson Biraj Adhikari said in a release.

Social worker Indra Suji has been fielded from West Pendam (SC) Assembly seat in East district, while another social worker Anush Rai will contest from Namcheybung seat in East district, he said.

Athup Lepcha, a former Minister, has been given ticket to contest from Djongu Assembly seat in North district, Adhikari said.

The HSP will announce its candidates, on remaining Assembly and one Lok Sabha seat in the next couple of days, he said.

Elections to the 32 member Sikkim Assembly and the lone Lok Sabha seat in the State will be held on April 11. – PTI

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »