Guwahati, Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
NZ spinners hand India shock defeat

 NAGPUR, March 15: Title favourites India capitulated to a shocking 47-run defeat against a spirited New Zealand in a low-scoring game as the hosts launched their ICC World Twenty20 campaign in the most ignominious manner, here tonight.After restricting New Zealand 126 for seven, India put up a pathetic batting display to be bundled out 79 in 18.1 overs, their second lowest Twenty20 total, on a turning track at a jam-packed VCA Stadium in Jamtha.

It was a horrendous performance from India, ranked world no 1 in the Twenty20 format, as the famed batting line-up showed poor skills and application to lose their fifth successive match against the Kiwis.

With impressive figures of 4-0-11-4, young left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner turned out to be the star performer with the ball for New Zealand, recording the best bowling figures by a Kiwi tweaker in India.

The home team now proceed to Kolkata to take on arch-foes Pakistan in their second game on March 19 while New Zealand travel to Dharamsala to clash against Trans-Tasman rivals Australia a day earlier.

India’s jinx in the T20 format against the Kiwis, thus,continued as the home team’s batting department came a cropper against the Kiwi spin trio of Nathan McCullum, Santner and Ish Sodhi.

Among the top five batsmen, only Virat Kohli reached double figures by making 23 off 22 balls with two fours while captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who made a run-a-ball 30 with one six and as many four, and Ravichandran Ashwin (10) were the only others to do so. – PTI


New Zealand: MJ Guptill lbw b Ashwin 6, KS Williamson st Dhoni b Raina 8, C Munro c Pandya b Nehra 7, CJ Anderson b Bumrah 34, LRPL Taylor run out (Raina) 10, MJ Santner c Dhoni b Jadeja 18, GD Elliott run out (Dhawan/Nehra) 9, L Ronchi not out 21, NL McCullum not out 0. Extras: (B-4, LB-3, W-6) 13. Total: (For 7 wickets in 20 overs) 126. Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-13, 3-35, 4-61, 5-89, 6-98, 7-114. Bowling: R Ashwin 4-0-32-1, A Nehra 3-0-21-1, JJ Bumrah 4-0-15-1, SK Raina 4-0-15-1, RA Jadeja 4-0-26-1, HH Pandya 1-0-10-0.

India: Rohit Sharma st Ronchi b Santner 5, Shikhar Dhawan lbw b McCullum 1, Virat Kohli c Ronchi b Sodhi 23, Suresh Raina c Guptill b Santner 1, Yuvraj Singh c & b McCullum 4, Mahendra Singh Dhoni c Mc-Cullum b Santner 30, Hardik Pandya lbw b Santner 1, Ravindra Jadeja c & b Sodhi 0, Ravichandran Ashwin st Ronchi b Sodhi 10, Ashish Nehra b Milne 0, Jasprit Bumrah not out 0. Extras: (W-3, NB-1) 4. Total: (all out in 18.1 overs) 79. Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-10, 3-12, 4-26, 5-39, 6-42, 7-43, 8-73, 9-79, 10-79. Bowling: Mc-Cullum 3-0-15-2, Anderson 3-0-18-0, Santner 4- 0-11-4, Elliott 2-0-9-0, Milne 2.1-0-8-1, Sodhi 4-0-18-3. – PTI

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »