Guwahati, Friday, March 15, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Biswanath dist admin holds series of meetings
 BISWANATH CHARIALI, March 14 - In view of the ensuing Lok Sabha elections, the Biswanath district administration has been holding several meetings with the representatives of various political parties, departmental heads and scribes of the district during the last couple of days.

 The meetings were presided over by District Electoral Officer and Deputy Commissioner Pabitra Ram Khound while Additional Deputy Commissioners Diganta Baishya and Parijat Bhuyan were also present in these meetings.

The meeting apprised the participants that the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) was put into effect in the district with the announcement of the poll dates and all the political parties were called upon to follow the rules and regulations in this respect.

The election officer also sought everyone’s help and cooperation for the smooth conduct of the poll in the district that falls under Tezpur Lok Sabha Constituency.

Power-point presentations were made on the use of mobile apps ‘C-Vigil’ and ‘Subidha’ introduced by the Election Commission of India to cater to the needs of voters and political parties.

It needs to be mentioned here that public will be able to lodge election-related complaints through these apps and the flying squads will reach the spot immediately to investigate and take necessary action.

Addressing the meetings, Rakesh Roshan, Biswanath Superintendent of Police, informed that the police has made all arrangements to tackle the law-and-order situation and a help line has been installed for the benefit of common voters.

The government hoardings, banners and posters that carry the pictures and assurances of political leaders were also removed. The election will be held on April 11 in the Tezpur Lok Sabha Constituency.

Meanwhile, the Gohpur sub-divisional administration has also made all arrangements for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections. Talking to mediapersons, Narendra Kumar Shah, SDO (Civil), Gohpur and District Electoral Officer, informed that total number of voters in 78 Gohpur LAC is 1, 87,928 and among them, male voters are 96,846 while female voters are 91,077, besides there are five transgender voters in the LAC.

Election will be held in 228 polling stations and 23 polling stations have been identified as complex centre.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »