Guwahati, Friday, March 15, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
CPI(M) to contest from 2 LS seats in State
Staff Reporter
 GUWAHATI, March 14 - The Communist Party of India (Marxist) today announced its candidates from the Kokrajhar and Lakhimpur constituencies for the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls.

 Student leader Biraj Deka is the CPI(M) nominee from the Kokrajhar seat, which is reserved for Schedule Tribe candidates. The party has given candidature to Amiya Kumar Handique in Lakhimpur.

Suprakash Talukdar, central committee member of CPI(M) said the party would contest only from these two seats in Assam in the coming elections.

“We have changed our strategy this time and we will consolidate our energy in the two constituencies,” he said.

Talukdar added that talks are on with other Left parties, including the Communist Party of India (CPI) and the Communist Party of India (Marxist Leninist) Liberation, for broader understanding for the polls.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »