Guwahati, Wednesday, March 14, 2012
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Ibobi may be sworn in today
Sobhapati Samom
 IMPHAL, March 13 Manipur Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh who was officially named new Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader today said his party may stake claim to form a new government in the State before March 15.

 Responding to a question during a media briefing here today, he said that they may stake claim before the expiry of the 9th Assembly on March 15.

Though he did not confirm the date and timing for his formal swearing in ceremony, official sources claimed that it will take place after the conclusion of formal oath taking ceremony of newly elected members of the Assembly to be held at the new Assembly hall at Thangmeiband tomorrow at 11 am.

Meanwhile, newly elected Congress member L Nandakumar was appointed as Protem Speaker at the Raj Bhavan here.

Highlighting the issues of power and water supplies besides connectivity which needs attention, Ibobi said the party high command will decide the matter relating to distribution of ministerial portfolios in the new government. Congress bagged 42 seats in the House of 60 in the January 28 polls.

Earlier, All India Congress Committee (AICC) leader and in charge of Manipur, Luizinho Faleiro told the media that AICC President Sonia Gandhi decided to appoint O Ibobi Singh as new CLP leader.

PTI adds:Okram Ibobi Singh, who steered the Congress to a third consecutive term in Manipur, in the Assembly elections is credited with bringing political stability to the State as very few Chief Ministers here could complete their terms before him in March 2002.

Soft-spoken 63-year-old Ibobi joined the party when Reishang Keishing was the Chief Minister and was first elected to Manipur Assembly in 1984 as an independent candidate.

He was appointed chairman of the State Khadi and Village Industries Board from November 1985 to January 1988.

In 1990, he was re-elected to the Assembly on a Congress ticket and became Industries Minister. On his victory in the March 2002 Assembly hustings, Ibobi became the Chief Minister followed by his second stint as Chief Minister in 2007.

He was born in Athokpam Makham Leikai, an interior village in Thoubal district, on July 19, 1948. He is an Arts graduate from a local college.

His wife Landhoni Devi is a newly-elected Congress MLA. She was a small time government contractor before becoming a social worker. They have a son and two daughters.

NNN adds: The swearing-in ceremony of the O Ibobi Singh-led Ministry will take place on Wednesday afternoon at the Raj Bhavan here. Reports said Gaikhangam, Phungzathang Tonsing, Ngamthang Haokip and Th Devendra are likely to be sworn in as Cabinet Ministers.

Other Headlines