Guwahati, Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
4,32,648 voters to exercise franchise in Tinsukia
 TINSUKIA, March 12 - Tinsukia election district, it may be mentioned, comprises 122 Tinsukia, 123 Digboi, 125 Doomdooma and a part of 121 Chabua Assembly constituencies of which Doomdooma is under 14 Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency and Tinsukia, Digboi and Chabua are under 13 Dibrugarh LS constituency respectively.

 In the ensuing Lok Sabha election to be held on April 11, altogether 4,32,648 voters will cast their votes in 505 polling stations in the election district. Elaborating on the poll process, District Election Officer-cum-Deputy Commissioner Oinam Sarankumar Singh stated in a press meet held on Monday that for smooth functioning of the election, the district has been divided into 20 zones and 52 blocks.

He further stated that out of 505 polling centres, 32 were marked as most sensitive, 94 centres were sensitive and 56 centres were categorised as complicated. Of the total voters in the district, the number of male voters is 2,19,554 and that of female voters is 2,13,069. It may be added here that there are 25 transgender voters in the district.

Asif Ahmed, Additional Superintendent of Police, who also attended the press meet, stated that security arrangements for the ensuing election was being formulated along with the additional forces which will be deployed for the election,

In the meantime, the District Election Officer informed that awareness was being generated among the voters on Electronic Voting Machine ( EVM) and Voter’s Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) system in different locations of the district.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »