Guwahati, Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
396 polling stations in Karimganj district critical
ANN Service
 NILAMBAZAR, March 12 - Deputy Commissioner-cum-Returning Officer, Karimganj has declared that out of 1056 polling stations among the five Assembly constituencies of the district, 396 stations are critical. Karimganj Police has identified the critical polling stations and half the police force will be deputed here for maintaining peace and tranquillity on the day of the poll.

 Addressing mediapersons on Monday in connection with the Lok Sabha elections, DC, PB Roy said that both Karimganj and Hailakandi districts fall under HPC-1 Karimganj. A total of 8.40 lakh, voters will exercise their franchise.

The Karimganj district administration has divided the constituency into 86 sectors. Votes of the five Assembly constituencies of Karimganj district – Ratabari, Patherkandi, North Karimganj, South Karimganj and Badarpur votes are to be counted at Karimganj College and the counting hall of the three Assembly constituencies of Katlichera, Algapur and Hailakandi are to be set up by the Hailakandi district administration, Roy added. DDC Baranya Das, ADC Dhrbajyoti Deb were also present at the press meet among others.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »