Guwahati, Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BJP unit forwards 4 names for Tura seat
 TURA, March 12 - The BJP unit here has decided to forward four names for selection as a probable candidate for the Tura seat after a meeting among party members here on Monday.

 The party has sent the names of Rikman G Momin, Digross D Shira, Thomas Marak and Dr KC Boro as probable candidates to contest from Tura in the forthcoming general election.

“The names were decided after all the probable candidates submitted applications, which were scrutinized. After scrutiny, the same were forwarded to our central team for a decision on choosing the candidate,” said party spokesperson Digross D Shira, who is also among the probable candidates.

The four candidates seeking the party ticket had contested the last Assembly elections in the State.

Meanwhile, the BJP has also forwarded the names of three candidates – Promod Koch, Adarsho Sangma and Bhupen Hajong – to contest the upcoming by-election to Selsella. The names of the three probable candidates were sent to the State team of the party.

Both Promod Koch and Bhupen Hajong had unsuccessfully contested the last Assembly elections in 2018.

The BJP has decided to go it alone in the State despite the MDA Government (of which the BJP is an ally) deciding to field consensus candidates for both the Tura and Shillong seats.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »