Guwahati, Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Left retains sitting MPs as candidates
 AGARTALA, March 12 - Both the sitting MPs belonging to the Left Front have been retained as candidates for the two Lok Sabha seats in the State.

 Left Front convener Bijan Dhar said that sitting MPs Sankar Prasad Datta and Jitendra Chaudhury would contest from West Tripura and East Tripura (ST) constituencies respectively.

The election to the West Tripura seat will be held in the first phase of the parliamentary polls on April 11, while the East Tripura (ST) constituency election will be held on April 18 in the second phase.

At a press conference here, Dhar said the Left Front would contest the elections with three slogans – oust the Modi Government to protect the country, increase the number of Left MPs in Parliament and form a secular Government at the Centre.

The Left Front convener alleged that the Modi-led NDA Government damaged the Constitutional institutions and harmed the interests of the common people during the last five years of its rule.

Dhar appealed to the voters of the State to defeat the BJP-led alliance candidates in the ensuing general election and contribute to the cause of forming a secular government at the Centre to protect democracy.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »