Guwahati, Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Dibrugarh ready for LS polls
Staff Correspondent
 DIBRUGARH, March 11 - A day after the Election Commission of India announced the dates for the Lok Sabha polls, the district’s Deputy Commissioner, who is also the Returning Officer of 13 Dibrugarh Lok Sabha constituency today told newsmen that the Dibrugarh is set for the polls.

“The training for the master of trainers and zonal and sector officers has been imparted and training for the polling personnel is ongoing. We are also holding meetings with the security forces and political parties. We will also be organising workshop on the election expenditure monitoring mechanism and filing of nominations with the leaders of the political parties or the agents of the candidates,” said the Deputy Commissioner during a press briefing on the poll preparedness.

Dibrugarh will go to polls on April 11, 2019. The notification will be issued on March 18 and the last date for filing nominations has been fixed for March 25. The scrutiny of nominations has been slated for March 26 and the last date of withdrawal of candidature has been fixed for March 28, 2019. Counting of votes will be held on May 23 while the date before which the election ought to be completed is May 27, 2019.

The Deputy Commissioner further said that arrangements like ramp, drinking water, health facility, proper lights, toilet and such other facilities would be ensured at all polling stations. “On the aspect of model code of conduct, we, including the police will be very strict. Permissions for election-related events like rally, procession or using helicopters for landing and take off must be obtained at least 48 hours in advance,” said the Deputy Commissioner.

On security, the local Superintendent of Police told newsmen that polling stations have been categorised on the basis of vulnerability and issue of criticality. “Security measures in each polling station will be taken up based on the past polling behaviour of the locality and on the basis of potential disturbance,” she said.

The Dibrugarh Lok Sabha constituency comprises assembly segments of Moran, Lahowal, Duliajan, Tingkhong, Dibrugarh, Naharkatia in Dibrugarh district and Tinsukia, Digboi and Margherita in Tinsukia district. Some 11,24,305 voters will cast their vote in 1535 polling stations in Dibrugarh Lok Sabha constituency. Like other polling stations, the Voters’ Verifiable Paper Audit Trail system will be used in all polling stations of Lok Sabha constituency area, informed the district election officer here.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »