Guwahati, Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Book titled Byakti-Byaktittva released in Goalpara
 GOALPARA, March 11 - A book titled Byakti -Byaktittva was formally released at a function held at the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Library here recently.

The book is a collection of biographical accounts of 35 living and past personalities of Assam as well as of Goalpara district and authored by prolific writer Sailen Das and published by Noni Das. The book is dedicated to Late Dr Abul Hussein Ahmed.

Releasing the book, Deputy Commissioner Varnali Das, while addressing the gathering as the chief guest, said that the book presented a distinct overview of various personalities and their works.

Praising the efforts of the writer, the DC pointed out that the book was relatable and informative and ought to be well appreciated in literary circles.

She also added that the book is about developing tolerance and fostering fraternity and brotherhood. She further mentioned that writer Sailen Das, who is a prominent social worker, is a source of inspiration for many upcoming writers as he has already penned 31 books so far.

Retired Headmistress Ira Nath in her presidential address lauded the writer, besides publisher Noni Das and presented an overview of the book while praising the writer’s efforts in portraying eminent personalities beautifully. She expressed her gratitude to the Deputy Commissioner for sparing some time for the book-release function.

Writer Sailen Das in his brief speech thanked all for being supportive and for the reviews. He also hoped that his work will be well appreciated by the people and by the literary circle, while publisher Noni Das said that the book was a determined effort of all the educated people whose inspiration and support was much needed.

Among others, retired Principal of Goalpara College Roma Kanta Baruah, retired Vice Principal of Goalpara College, Abedur Rahman Saikia, advocate Binoy Krishna Gosh, former teacher Latika Choudhury and Domborudhar Das, retired engineer Arup Kumar Roy, Principal of Goalpara Law College Adittya Bora and Prof Ranjit Choudhury also spoke on the occasion.

Earlier, the function began with a rendition of Rabindra Sangeet by Jesmine Sultana while the vote of thanks was offered by Nakul Das.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »