Guwahati, Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
First chairman of Mizoram Lokayukta sworn in
 AIZAWL, March 11 - C Lalsawta, a retired IAS officer was today sworn in as the first chairman of Mizoram Lokayukta. The newly-appointed Mizoram Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi administered the oath of office to Lalsawta at Durbar Hall, Raj Bhavan at 4 pm on Monday.

Chief minister Zoramthanga, Speaker Lalrinliana Sailo, Cabinet Ministers, MLAs and other top officials attended the ceremony. Lalsawta, 63, had been in government service for more than 40 years. He was appointed as chairman of the newly-constituted Lokayukta on February 28.

Bihar cadre of 1981 Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer, Lalsawta had served as Principal Secretary Finance in Mizoram during 2008-2011 and returned to Bihar where he was promoted to Vigilance Commissioner in the rank of chief secretary. He retired in 2015.

According to the Mizoram Lokayukta Act, all public servants including the Chief Minister were within the ambit of the Lokayukta.

While a provision for protection of the whistle-blower was incorporated in the Act, there was a scope for punishment of those who file false, frivolous or vexatious complaints to the Lokayukta.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »