Guwahati, Saturday, March 11, 2017
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
All-party team seeks Subodh Biswas’ arrest
Staff reporter
 GUWAHATI, March 10 - The all-party delegation of the Assam Legislative Assembly that was at Silapathar in Dhemaji district on a two-day stock-taking exercise following a spate in violence has expressed serious concern on the incidents beginning with the vandalism at the local All Assam Students’ Union (AASU) office and called for arrest of all the persons named in the FIR – including Dr Subodh Biswas, president of NIBBUS – as responsible for the developments.

The delegation which was led by Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul today submitted its report to the Assembly.

The delegation which held extensive deliberations with the district administration, police, and a number of organizations stated in its report that all the organizations including the AASU during their interactions with the delegation held Dr Biswas largely responsible for the violence.

“…the organizations demanded before the delegation that the culprits be arrested immediately, more particularly Dr Subodh Biswas, president of NIBBUS, who delivered a provocative speech in the meeting that day,” the delegation said in its report.

The report noted that most of the organizations that the delegation interacted were unanimous in their opposition to the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill.

“Most of the organizations including the AASU that interacted with the all-party delegation requested that the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill should be opposed,” it said.

The delegation also called for initiation of departmental proceedings against the teachers involved in organizing the meeting at Silapathar on that day, i.e., March 6.

The delegation also called for sending the injured persons to the AMCH Dibrugarh for treatment at the Government’s cost besides repair of the AASU office and the adjacent school building damaged by the participants in the procession.

The other members of the delegation were Keshab Mahanta, Ashok Sarma, Dr Nomal Momin, Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha, Pradip Hazarika, Mamun Imdadul Haque Choudhury, Kamalsingh Narzary and Bhubon Pegu.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »