Guwahati, Friday, March 11, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
AGP announces list of 25 candidates
Staff Reporter

AGP president Atul Bora (C) releasing the candidates’ list of the party for the ensuing Assembly elections, in Guwahati on Thursday. – UNI
 GUWAHATI, March 10 - The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) today announced its list of 25 candidates for the Assembly election that includes former Chief Minister Prafulla Mahanta and the party president Atul Bora.

 The regional party would soon make announcements about some other constituencies where it has decided to go for a friendly contest with its ally Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The regional party also welcomed some prominent faces as its members, including former AJYCP leader Dilip Patgiri, former IPS officer Dilip Bora, and actress Doreen Hazarika among others.

Addressing media persons here, Atul Bora said that the decision to field candidates was taken by the top-decision making committee of the party, which also appointed Asom Yuba Parishad working president Sunil Deka as the president in charge of the party’s youth wing.

The candidate list includes Atul Bora from Bokakhat, Prafulla Kumar Mahanta from Barhampur, former AGP president Brindaban Goswami from Tezpur, Dr Kamala Kanta Kalita from Chhaygaon, Keshab Mahanta from Kaliabor, Phani Bhushan Choudhury from Bongaigaon, Prabin Hazarika from Biswanath and Renupama Rajkhowa from Teok.

Other candidates include Binod Goala (Sarupathar), Bhabendra Nath Bharali (Dergaon), Pradip Hazarika (Amguri), Utpal Dutta (Lakhimpur), Naren Sonowal (Naharkatiya), Ali Azam Shekh (Bilasipara West), Bhupen Roy (Abhayapuri North), Rabin Banikya (Abhayapuri South), Pabindra Deka (Patacharkuchi), Gunindra Nath Das (Barpeta), Jyoti Prasad Das (Boko), Ramendra Narayan Kalita (Guwahati West), Satyabrat Kalita (Kamalpur), Mukunda Ram Choudhury

(Kalaigaon), Habibur Rahman (Dalgaon), Ranjit Deka (Lahorighat) and Jiauddin Ahmed (Jamunamukh).

Atul Bora also called upon those who have left the party to reunite with the AGP to form a non-Congress government in the State.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »