Guwahati, Tuesday, March 6, 2012
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Stage set for Manipur counting
 IMPHAL, March 5 – All is set for the counting of votes of the election to the Manipur Assembly here tomorrow.

The counting is scheduled to start at 8 am.

Manipur Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh and his wife O Landoni Devi, Speaker I Hemochandra, Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee President Gaikhangam, former Chief Minister Radhabinod Koijam(NCP), former Deputy Chief Minister Dr L Chandramani, Manipur People’s Party President Dr Nimaichand Luwang and O Joy besides former Union Sports Minister Th Chaoba are seeking re-election.

For the first time in the State’s Assembly history, the counting at 18 counting halls will be webcasted live on the internet at the website of Chief Electoral Officer ( said Joint Chief Electoral Officer N Praveen. Results and trends can be accessed live by going to the Counting of Vote link given in the website.

In Imphal, necessary security arrangements have been completed to ensure smooth counting of votes at the four counting halls in the office complex of DC Imphal West district here.

Meanwhile, re-polling at four polling stations – Makuilong, Lemta, Kadi and Dunong of Tamei seat in Tamenglong district which was deferred due to landslide was held today.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »