Guwahati, Monday, March 4, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
State Science Award-2019 to Bhupendra Nath Goswami

 GUWAHATI, March 3 - The State Department of Science and Technology has been conferring awards to eminent scientists, upcoming scientists and institutions for promoting science and technology sincc 2017.

The awardees for 2019 were declared by the Assarn Science Technology and Environment Council. Dr Bhupendra Nath Goswami, a climate scientist of international repute, known for his discovery of the ‘Indian Ocean Dipole Mode’, and who was former Director of the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology and a Shantiswaroop Bhatnagar Awardee, has been chosen for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

For the category of Young Scientist Award, Dr Manashita Borah, an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineening of Tezpur University was chosen for her contribution in the field of biomedical implementation, automated waste water treatment, etc.

The CSIR-North East Institute of Science and Technology (formerly RRL-Jorhat) has been chosen for the award for the Best Scientific Organisation for promotion of science and technology for the benefit of society.

The awards will be presented by the Chief Minister at the State-level National Science Day ceremony to be held from 10.00 am on March 5 at the Assam Administrative Staff College at Khanapara in Guwahati, a press release stated.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »