Guwahati, Friday, March 1, 2013
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Assam stun Mumbai to enter semis
Sports reporter
 GUWAHATI, Feb 28 Ė Assam created history defeating Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai by 27 runs to enter the semifinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at Mumbai today. Assam batting first scored a mere 179 and Mumbai, the last seasonís runners-up, were in for a shock as their batting line-up crumbled in front of a disciplined Assam attack for 151.

Abu Nechim Ahmed was again the star with the ball finishing with 3 for 31, while Pritam Das (2/24) took the wickets of Siddhesh Lad and Chavan. Mumbai started out strongly as they bundled out Assam for 178 in 47.4 overs after opting to ball.

Mumbaiís Aavishkar Salvi (3/25) and Rajesh Verma (3/32) shared six wickets between them while left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdullah picked up two wickets.

In-form Assam batsmen Sibsankar Roy (69) and Gokul Sharma (51) scored half-centuries apiece to take Assam close to the 180-run mark. Mumbaiís Salviís opening burst had Assam in a little bit of bother. But Sibsankar and Gokul revived the innings with a a 92-run fifth-wicket stand.

Assam were in a decent position at 147 for four in the 40th over before their lower order crumbled. Assamís bowlers never let Mumbaiís star batting order to settle down and reduced them to 6 for 3, and then to 39 for 4 inside the first 10 overs.

Skipper Wasim Jaffer was bowled in the first over by Abu Nechim Ahmed. Rohit Sharma followed suit in the same manner in the second over for a duck to Arup Das.

Shoaib Shaikh (42) and Ankeet Chavan (36) took Mumbai past the 100-run mark but after the formerís dismissal to Gokul Sharma, Mumbai started to lose wickets at regular intervals to be eventually dismissed for 151.


Assam: PP Das c Tare b Salvi 2, Jadhav b Salvi 2, SA Roy c Waingankar b Iqbal Abdulla 69, Tarjinder Singh c Shaikh b Salvi 7, Syed Mohammad c Chavan b Waingankar 12, G Sharma c Tare b Verma 51, AS Sinha c Jaffer b Verma 18, Rajdeep Das c & b Iqbal Abdulla 0, AN Ahmed c Jaffer b Chavan 1, PL Das not out 3, AK Das b Verma 0. Extras: (lb 2, w 10, nb 1) 13. Total: (all out; 47.4 overs) 178. Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-8, 3-30, 4-55, 5-147, 6-167, 7-168, 8-171, 9-178, 10-178. Bowling: AM Salvi 8-2-25-3, RP Verma 8.4-0-32-3, Waingankar 6-1-16-1, SS Shaikh 6-0-20-0, AA Chavan 9-0-42-1, Iqbal Abdulla 10-0-41-2.

Mumbai: W Jaffer b Ahmed 5, D Subramanian run out 0, SS Shaikh c AK Das b Sharma 42, RG Sharma b AK Das 0, SD Lad c Ahmed b PL Das 23, AA Chavan c & b PL Das 36, AP Tare lbw b Ahmed 7, Iqbal Abdulla not out 22, KM Waingankar c Syed Mohammad b Ahmed 1, RP Verma st Rajdeep Das b Tarjinder Singh 5, AM Salvi run out 1. Extras: (lb 6, w 3) 9. Total: (all out; 46.5 overs) 151. Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-5, 3-6, 4-39, 5-102, 6-113, 7-134, 8-138, 9-149, 10-151. Bowling: AN Ahmed 10-1-31-3, AK Das 7-1-35-1, PL Das 9.5-2-24-2, Syed Mohammad 6-1-13-0, G Sharma 10-1-30-1, Tarjinder Singh 4-0-12-1.

City Ľ
State Ľ
Other Headlines Ľ
Sports Ľ