Guwahati, Sunday, June 24, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
SJFI honour for Vijay Amritraj

 GUWAHATI, June 23 - The Sports Journalists Federation of India (SJFI) at the Annual General Body meeting here on Saturday decided to confer the inaugural SJFI medal to tennis legend Vijay Amritraj.

The 64-year-old multi-faceted Padma Shri awardee will be honoured during the SJFI annual convention scheduled to be held in Bengaluru from September 18-22.

The Gold Coast Commonwealth Games gold medallist in Javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra was named the Sportsperson-of-the-Year, while the history-making men and women’s table tennis team which represented the country at the CWG was adjudged the team of the year.

Manu Bhaker, the youngest India to win a gold medal at the ISSF World Cup, is this year's Emerging talent of the year.

At the AGM it was also decided to award three eminent sports personalities – Anjali Bhagwat, PK Banerjee and WV Raman – the SJFI honorary membership.

Barua, Vinod re-elected: Subodh Malla Baruah (Assam Sports Journalists Association) and A Vinod (Kerala Sports Journalists Association) were unanimously re-elected as the president and secretary of the SJFI for the 2018-20 term. Prashant Keni was retained the treasurer. Other office bearers are: Vice-presidents: Jac Gladson (Telegana), Tushar Trivedi (Gujarat), R Narayanan (Tamil Nadu), Sarju Chakraborty (Tripura); Joint secretary: Manuja Veerappa (Bangalore); Executive committee: Abhishek Sengupta (Kolkata), Amitabha Das Sharma (Kolkata), Sambit Mahapatra (Odisha), Bidyut Kalita (Assam), Vikas Pandey (Indore), Devendra Pandey (Mumbai), Sandeep Dabhekar (Nagpur), R Kaushik (co-opted).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »