Guwahati, Monday, June 18, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
5th convocation of Assam Down Town varsity held
Staff Reporter
 GUWAHATI, June 17 - The fifth annual convocation of the city-based Assam Down Town University (AdtU) was held on June 15 on its Panikhaiti campus here.

Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi was the chief guest in the event. Prof V Nagaraja, president of the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru, was the guest of honour. Prof Nagaraja also delivered the convocation address.

During the convocation ceremony, the D Litt/DSc (Honoris Causa) was conferred on noted industrialist and philanthropist Sajjan Bhajanka, eco-tourism expert Jahnoobi Phookan, renowned filmmaker Rima Das and innovator Rajlakshmi Borthakur.

Speaking on the occasion, Prof Mukhi exhorted all the students to pursue excellence. “The society has great expectations from you in the task of nation building,” said the Governor.

Prof Nagaraja, in his speech, said education is the key ingredient in character building and socio-economic transformation.

“Value-based education is the foundation, and on the basis of this foundation an individual can sustain, prosper and flourish. However, it must be noted that what is learnt in the classroom is only a tip of the iceberg. More can be learnt in the real world,” he said.

AdtU Chancellor Dr NN Dutta, in his statement, said in the past few years, the number of admissions to the varsity has increased and many dedicated faculty members have also joined the institution.

He added that the main aim of an educational institution is to shape up every individual’s life and career, while enhancing skills simultaneously.

AdtU Vice Chancellor Dr Amarjyoti Choudhury said the University is proud to be a part of the Unnat Bharat Abhiyan which formalises the activities of extending a helping hand for inclusive development and adopting villages.

Altogether 405 students from various departments like Engineering, Pharmacy, MBA (full-time), MBA (Healthcare), Bachelor of Hotel Management (BHM), Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Technology (BMLT), Bachelor of Physiotherapy (BPT), Bachelor of Trauma Emergency and Disaster Management (BTEDM), Bachelor of Radiography Imaging Technology (BRAIT), Bachelor of Science (OT Technology), BSc (Micro Biology), Bachelor of Pharmacy, Bachelor of Technology (CSE), Bachelor of Technology (ME), Bachelor of Technology (CE), Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA), Trauma, Emergencies and Disaster Management (TEDM), Master of Social Work (MSW), MTech, Master of Medical Laboratory Technology (MMLT), M Com, MSc Nursing, MSc Biotechnology, and MSc Biochemistry were conferred degrees on the occasion.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »