Guwahati, Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Kaatyayini upsets 4th seed Ashmita

 GUWAHATI, June 11 - The girls U-16 singles event reached the semifinal stage in the ongoing AITA Championship Series Tennis Tournament at the All Assam Tennis Association Complex in Chachal here.

 Unseeded Kaatyayini Vashisth of Assam caused upset by defeating fourth seed Ashmita Mitra of West Bengal in straight sets in the quarterfinal of the girls U-16 singles event. Other girls who made it to the semifinals are top seed Oindrila Sen (West Bengal), third seed Justina Borgohain (Assam) and second seed Tanishqa Patar (Assam).

In the boys singles pre quarterfinals, unseeded Pritam Barua of Assam caused a major upset by ousting fourth seed Harshad Borah (Assam) in three gruelling sets 3-6, 7-6 (5), 6-1. All the other seeds in the boys singles event reached the quarterfinal stage.

Today’s results: (Girls U-16, Q/F) Top seed Oindrila Sen (WB) bt Kalpita Rajkhowa (AS) 6-1, 6-1; 3rd seed Justina Borgohain (AS) bt Tania Kumari (AS) 2-6, 6-3, 6-4; Kaatyayini Vashisth (AS) bt 4th seed Ashmita Mitra (WB) 6-3, 6-2 (upset); 2nd seed Tanishqa Patar (AS) bt Rimi Taye (AS) 6-0, 6-1. (Boys U-16, pre Q/F) Top seed Shahir Farhaz (AS) bt Rajdeep Deka (AS) W/O; 6th seed Ved Aditya Kalita (AS) bt Almas Ebon Ahmed (AS) 7-6 (1), 6-4; 3rd seed Arounesh Bora (AS) bt Genes Bora (AS) 6-0, 6-1; 5th seed Aryan Bora (AS) bt Bikramaditya Mahanta (AS) 7-6 (3), 6-4; 7th seed Harisharan B (TN) bt Rohan Singh Bisht (AS) 7-6 (3), 6-4; Pritam Barua (AS) bt 4th seed Harshad Borah (AS) 3-6, 7-6 (5), 6-1 (upset); 8th seed Antariksh Tamuly (AS) bt Abyan Zaffar (AS) 6-0, 6-0; 2nd seed Tushar Paul (AS) bt Samarjeet Singh (AS) 6-0, 6-0. (Boys U-16 doubles, S/F) Shahir Farhaz (AS)/Tushar Paul (AS) bt Almas Ebon Ahmed (AS)/Harisharan B (TN) 6-0, 6-3; Antariksh Tamuly (AS)/Pritam Barua (AS) bt Ved Aditya Kalita (AS)/Aryan Bora (AS) 6-3, 6-7 (3), 12-10. (Girls U-16 doubles, S/F) Tanishqa Patar (AS)/Kalpita Rajkhowa (AS) bt Oindrila Sen (WB)/Ashmita Mitra (WB) 6-3, 6-3; Tania Kumari (AS)/Namrata Das (AS) bt Justina Borgohain (AS)/Harshita Borah (AS) 6-4, 6-3.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »