Guwahati, Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Newly-elected Arunachal MLAs take oath
 ITANAGAR, June 3 - The newly-elected lawmakers in Arunachal Pradesh on Monday took oath as Members of the Seventh Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

 Khandu, who has been re-elected to the 60-member House from Mukto seat in Tawang district, was the first to be sworn-in as the member of the State Assembly followed by his Deputy Chowna Mein and 10 other Cabinet Ministers.

Pro-tem Speaker Phosum Khimhun administered the oath of affirmation to the newly elected MLAs on the first day of the two-day special session that began today here.

In all, 57 members, excluding senior Congress leader and former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki and the Pro-tem Speaker, took oath during the day. The third member, Tirong Aboh, who retained the Khonsa West seat by contesting fell victim to suspected militants’ bullets on May 21 – just two days ahead of counting of votes.

Four members, including two newly sworn-in Ministers – Tage Taki and Taba Tedir, took the oath in Hindi, while others in English.

Of the newly elected MLAs, 41 are from the ruling BJP, seven from Janata Dal (United), five from National People’s Party (NPP), four from Congress, one from People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) and two Independents. Of them, 20 members are first-timers.

Meanwhile, three-time MLA from Mechuka Assembly Constituency in Arunachal Pradesh, Pasang Dorjee Sona, is ‘all set’ to become the new Speaker of the Arunachal House and two-time legislator from Changlang North, Tesam Pongte, his Deputy.

The process of election of the new Speaker and Deputy Speaker got underway on Monday with the ruling BJP members Sona and Pongte filing their nomination papers for the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker, respectively.

Sona and Pongte submitted their papers to the Pro-tem Speaker Phosum Khimhun in the Speaker’s chamber here today. The election of the new Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be held on Tuesday. The election of the duo is certain as none from any other party have filed nomination papers.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »