Guwahati, Sunday, July 20, 2014
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
New Nagaland Guv sworn in

 KOHIMA, July 19 – Octogenarian Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya was today sworn in as the 19th Governor of Nagaland. He has been given the additional charge of Tripura also.

 Acharya served as the BJP national secretary during 1995-2000 when Narendra Modi was the BJP national general secretary. Acharya was then the in-charge of party affairs in Northeastern States. He has also served as national president of ABVP.

The gubernatorial post fell vacant following the resignation of Governor Ashwani Kumar on June 26. Acharya was sworn in by Justice PK Saikia of Gauhati High Court at the Raj Bhavan here in the presence of Chief Minister T R Zeliang, MP and former CM Neiphiu Rio, Cabinet Ministers, BJP Nagaland unit president M Chuba Ao, NPF president Shurhozelie, senior bureaucrats, police and Army officers. – PTI

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »