Guwahati, Friday, July 3, 2015
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Green Valley suffer first defeat
Sports reporter
 GUWAHATI, July 2 – Tezpur United upset table topper FC Green Valley with a 1-0 victory in the Assam State Premier League at the Nehru Stadium here today.

With today’s victory, the Tezpur team confirmed their berth in the quarterfinal stage collecting 13 points. Although the match was of academic interest for the host team, Tezpur was in a must-win situation for qualification to the knock-out stage.

Young, Bablu Bhuyan fired the match-winning salvo in the 80th minute.

It was a beautiful looking goal as Bablu’s 22-yard swerving shot sailed into the goal at the far post deceiving the opponent goalkeeper Cheeradeep Chattopadhay.

At Golaghat, host Golaghat Rhino went down to Karbi Anglong Morning Star FC 3-1. Orok struck twice in the 48th and 84th minute while Michael Joute put their team ahead in the 44th minute. For the host team, Faniyan scored in the 64th minute.

Moran Town Club edged past Jorhat Town Club 2-1 at Jorhat. Hope Rally (11th minute) and Dabesh Daimary (83rd minute) netted one goal each for the winning team while Alan scored for Jorhat in the injury time.

Guwahati FC played goalless draw against host Global FC, at Gossaigaon.

Our Tinsukia correspondent adds: Barekuri FC have been ousted of the Assam State Premier League football championship suffering 1-3 defeat at the hands of Trinanyanjyoti FC, Chabua.

In their last home match at the Katchujan Field of Tinsukia DSA here today, the host team surrendered meekly to the sturdy opponent.

For the winning team, Sunday Orang Ayuk, Pedor Coch and Sanam Kipha each scored a goal in the 40th, 63rd and 83rd minutes respectively while for Barekuri, Santosh Chutia netted the lone goal in the 53 minute.

Our Kokrajhar correspondent adds: Host Baarhoongkha AC outplayed Udalguri FC 6-0 in their ASPL match here today.

Pranab Das (31st and 81st minute), Michael 34th and 39th minute) Daniel (17th minute) and Lamingthang (51st minute) were the scorers for the winning team.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »