Guwahati, Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
64 ward commissioners take oath of office in Karbi Anglong
 DIPHU, Jan 21 - The Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council organised a function here on Sunday where all the 64 elected ward commissioners were administered oath of office publicly.

The said move by the ruling party has been described by many as a display of its political success ahead of the approaching parliamentary election.

The BJP, it may be mentioned, won all the nine urban bodies across West and East Karbi Anglong. The council therefore organised the oath-taking ceremony of the ward commissioners elected in the nine town committees of Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong at the Joysing Doloi Auditorium in the heart of the town.

On the occasion, the Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council Chief Executive Member Tuliram Ronghang was also present. In his address to the party workers and thousands of party supporters, Ronghang described the occasion as a momentous one where all the 64 elected ward commissioners of the 9 town committees were present for the swearing-in ceremony.

“The ward commissioners deserve full credit because they are elected representatives of the people, and not selected or appointed. They have been elected to solve myriad problems of the urban people. As the town committees are autonomous bodies, no one can interfere in matters of any welfare schemes of the town committees. Any important decision will be taken by the elected body headed by the chairman and vice chairman and they can make payments to the contractors, besides employees according to the rules of the body.

Further, they can invite tenders, allocate work and disburse payments. In order to honour the ward commissioners, Team Karbi Anglong has organised this oath-taking ceremony like the Prime Minister, MPs, MLAs and Chief Minister,” Ronghang said.

He also said Rs 5 crore will be allotted against each town committee for taking up developmental works initially, where some schemes have already been taken up and these projects will be implemented soon by the elected bodies of the town committees. There will be facilities for sanitation in all the nine town committees. Salaries for 8 months have been sanctioned for the employees of all the town committees, he further said.

Additionally, Rs 100 crore has been sanctioned by the Central Road Fund (CRF) under the Non-Lapsable Pool of Central Resources (NLCPR) for Diphu Town Committee.

The oath-taking ceremony was attended by a sizeable section of Executive Members of the council, besides government officials.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »