Guwahati, Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
40th Jyotirupa one act play contest gets under way
Staff Reporter

President of Jyotirupa and Editor of The Assam Tribune PG Baruah speaking at the inaugural ceremony. – AT Photo
 GUWAHATI, Jan 21 - The 40th Jyotirupa One Act Play Competition 2019 was inaugurated at the District Library auditorium here today.

Inaugurating the competition, president of socio-cultural organisation Jyotirupa and Editor of The Assam Tribune Prafulla Govinda Baruah said, “We always try to contribute our bit towards strengthening the theatre movement in the State. Though maintaining continuity in this field is a big challenge, members of Jyotirupa are putting in their best efforts to motivate younger generations of theatre artistes.”

In a span of four decades, Jyotirupa has provided a suitable platform to budding theatre artistes of Assam to showcase their talent through this competition. Apart from philanthropic activities, the organisation has been working relentlessly to carry forward the theatre movement and preserve it for posterity.

PG Baruah also released a souvenir specially brought out on the occasion. The five-day event would culminate on January 25.

The Kishore Thakuria Memorial Mono Acting Competition is also part of the event. The winners of the one act play competition would receive the RG Baruah Memorial Running Trophy, Jyotirupa award and a cash prize.

The winners of the mono acting competition would receive the Kishore Thakuria Memorial Award, Jyotirupa award and cash prize.

Lo Jharu Lo by Navaras theatre group of Chhaygaon was the inaugural play of the event. The other two plays staged on the day were Jetiya Sandhya Naame by Proscenium theatre group of Nagaon and Aprapti by Catharsis group of Jalukbari.

The jury comprises Prabhat Goswami, Kushal Krishna Dev Goswami and Pakija Begum.

A number of groups from different parts of the State are taking part in the one act play competition.

During the event, a moment of silence was observed in the memory of Sikha Bhattacharya, a member of Jyotirupa and a senior employee of the Assam Tribune group, who died recently. Earlier, Naren Hazarika delivered the welcome speech.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »