Guwahati, Sunday, January 13, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Romen Dutta elected ACA president
Sports Reporter
 GUWAHATI, Jan 12 - Romen Dutta of Nazira has been elected the president of the Assam Cricket Association (ACA) in its Annual General Meeting held at the ACA stadium in Barsapara here today.

Dutta emerged victorious with 21 votes against current secretary Pradip Buragohain, who received only nine votes.

Tridib Konwar of Tinsukia will occupy the treasurer’s post after receiving 19 votes against Mangaldai’s Prakash Deka’s 11. Parikshit Dutta with a total of 24 votes secured the vice president’s post against Preetam Konwar, who managed six votes.

Earlier, former Ranji player and the present vice president of the ACA, Devajit Saikia has been already confirmed as the new secretary of the State cricket body. He was elected unopposed as his opponent Kamakhya Saikia, who is also a former Ranji player has withdrawn his nomination on Friday for the glamorous post. However, Kamakhya has been elected as joint secretary as his opponents Prakash Deka and Saibal Sen Gupta withdrew their nominations. Sen Gupta became the Apex Council Member unopposed. Former Assam Ranji players Rajesh Bora and Nasir Gul Khan have congratulated Ramen Dutta and Devajit Saikia along with all newly elected members of ACA.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »