Guwahati, Saturday, January 12, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Roshni, Justina, Jigyashman, Kritanta win titles

Trophy winners pose for photographs with GLTA officials and guests after the closing function.
 GUWAHATI, Jan 11 - Kritanta Sarma of Guwahati bagged the Boy’s Singles (U-18) title defeating Shahir Farhaz of Jorhat by 6-1, 6-4 in the final while in the Boy’s Singles (U-14) final Jigyashman Hazarika of Guwahati won the title beating Adiraj Krishna Bhuyan from Golaghat by 6-0, 6-0 in the third Guwahati Open Junior Tennis Championship organised by Guwahati Lawn Tennis Association (GLTA) at the RG Baruah Sports Complex here today.

In the Girl’s Singles (U-18) Justina Borgohain of Guwahati annexed the title beating Tanishqa Patar from Guwahati by 6-3, 6-0 in the final while in the Girl’s Singles (U-12) Roshni Bharadwaj from India Club, Guwahati clinched the title defeating Jagyashree Parashar in a thrilling final by 7-6, 1-6, 10-6.

Earlier, on January 10, in the Girl’s Singles (U-14) final Tanishqa Patar won the title defeating Namrata Das 4-6, 6-3, 10-6 while in the Boy’s Singles (U-12) Antariksh Tamuly claimed the title beating Aryan Bora 6-3, 2-6, 10-5.

Bishnupriya Borgohain and Aditya B Kaman were awarded as the Most Promising Player for Girl’s and Boy’s category respectively.

Sanjib Narain, Chairman and Managing Director of Prag News Channel attended the closing function as the chief guest. Sanjib Narain, Riniki BhuyanSarma, Anirban Das and Pronoy Bordoloi were felicitated by the organisers. Prizes to the winners and runner-ups were distributed by Sanjib Narain, Riniki Bhuyan Sarma, Kalyan Kumar Das, Anirban Das, PronoyBordoloi and Kalyan Barua.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »