Guwahati, Monday, January 9, 2017
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Kaliyani Open concludes

Players pose for a photograph after the conclusion of the 10th Kaliyani Open All Assam Ranking Tennis Tournament at Numaligarh, on Sunday.
 GUWAHATI, Jan 8 - Satyam Goswami emerged champion in the boys’ U-18 category while Debangana Borkataki annexed the girls’ U-18 title of the 10th Kaliyani Open All Assam Ranking Tennis Tournament which concluded here today. The tournament was hosted by Kaliyani Club, Numaligarh Refinery Limited (NRL) under the aegis of the All Assam Tennis Association.

 Andy Thaosen won the U-12 boys’ title while Justina Borgohain lifted the U-14 girls’ title. Debanga P Hazarika clinched the U-14 boys’ title while Baibhav Das walked away with the Late Nagen Chandra Dutta memorial award for the most promising player of the tournament.

Gaurav Batra, Deputy Commissioner, Golaghat was present during the prize distribution ceremony. Director Finance, NRL distributed the prizes to the players, stated a press release.

Results: Singles: (Boys’ U-12) Andy Thaosen bt Manan Nath 6-2, 6-0; (Boys’ U-14) Debanga P Hazarika bt Jeet Dutta 6-2, 6-3; (Boys’ U-18) Satyam Goswami bt Rishav Brahma 6-4, 6-3; (Girls’ U-14) Justina Borgohain bt Harshita Borah 2-6, 7-6, 6-0; (Girls’ U-18) Debangana Borkataki bt Harshita Borah 6-7(3), 6-1, 6-3.

Doubles: (Boys’ U-14) Jeet Dutta/Shahir Farhaz bt Anurag Konwar/Tushar Paul 6-4, 6-1; (Boys U-18) Rishav Brahma/Hrykpb Borah bt Satyam Goswami/Shivam Goswami 4-6, 6-3, 6-4; (Girls’ U-18) Harshita Borah/Pratiksha Saikia bt Debangana Barkataki/Baishali B Borah 7-6, 6-1.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »