Guwahati, Sunday, January 08, 2012
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Final electoral rolls of Darrang published
 MANGALDAI, Jan 7 – Names of 6,59,397 voters have been included in the final electoral roll of 2012 of Darrang district covering four Assembly constituencies that was published on January 5 as announced by the district administration here. The final publication after a process of special summary revision under the guidelines of the Election Commission Of India has shown an increase of 15,679 voters at a percentage of 2.44 in comparison to the draft electoral roll which was published earlier. This was disclosed before mediapersons by Hem Kanta Bora, ADC, Darrang in a meeting at the DC’s conference hall here on Thursday afternoon where representatives of various political parties were present.

Among the total voters 3,39,364 are male and 3,20,033 are female. It was also informed that this final electoral roll has been published in 776 polling stations covering 65 Kalaigaon, 66 Sipajhar , 67 Mangaldai (SC) and 68 Dalgaon Assembly constituencies and on the basis of this electoral roll - addition, deletion of voters will also be in force as a part of continuous update process. ADC, Bora also announced the directives of the ECI on the celebration of National Voters Day on January 25 next with a week-long variety of programmes from January 19 to attract youths attaining 18/19 years of age . He also stressed the need of wider publicity of the programmes to be organised during the period and accordingly directed the Electoral Registration Officers of the district present to chalk out plans and make the media persons informed at the right time.

Animesh Talukdar, Election Officer, Mangaldai along with Prasanta Barua, ERO, Mangaldai, Suranjana Senapati, ERO, Sipajhar, Kalpana Deka, AERO, Sipajhar, Dinamani Das, ERO, Kalaigaon and Pranjit Hazarika,DIPRO Darrang attended the meeting.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »