Guwahati, Sunday, January 7, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
ATEU holds quiz, elocution contests

Some participants of the elocution contest pose with members of the jury. – AT photo
 GUWAHATI, Jan 6 - Manas Pratim Sarma of Darrang College, Tezpur; Ankurjyoti Sarma of Cotton University, Guwahati and Arani S Hazarika of Holy Child School, Guwahati emerged first, second and third respectively in the all-Assam elocution contest (Group A-Class VIII-XII) organised by the Assam Tribune Employees’ Union (ATEU) at the Pandit Tirthanath Sarma Sabhaghar today as part of its forthcoming diamond jubilee celebrations.

 In Group B (Degree to Postgraduate level), the first three winners were Moon Talukdar of JB Law College, Guwahati; Sachin Sinha of RGCET and Pronali Borah of Kaliabor College respectively.

The judges were Atulya Madhab Goswami and Pulin Kalita of Dainik Asam and Debasish Bezbaruah of The Assam Tribune. Hiranya Kumar Barman of Asom Bani anchored the programme.

In the open quiz, the team comprising Dilip Kumar Sarma of Guwahati and Deep Jyoti Deka of Nalbari emerged winner, followed by Raktim Ranjan Baishya and Mridul Ram Kalita (both from Guwahati) and Sayantan Saikia of Digboi and Kumar Shivam of Hojai. Dipankar Kaushik was the quiz master.

ATEU general secretary Dugdharam Kalita spoke among others. The winners in their speeches urged the ATEU to hold an annual RG Baruah Memorial quiz.

The best two audience prizes went to Dr Upakul Sarma of Tezpur University and Arnab Bardoloi of Nagaon Quiz Forum. Awards to all the winners will be presented on January 28.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »