Guwahati, Monday, January 6, 2020
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Assam record innings victory against Uttarakhand

Members of Assam Ranji team celebrate after their win against Uttarakhand by an innings, in Dehradun, on Sunday. Ė PTI
 GUWAHATI, Jan 5 - Assam posted an innings and 90-run victory in their Elite Group C Ranji Trophy match against Uttarakhand at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun today.

In reply to Assamís first innings total of 294, the host team was all out for 121 in their first innings and requiring to score 173 in the second innings to bat Assam again, Uttarakhand were all out for 83.

Assam pacers Ranjit Mali and Mukhtar Hussain wrecked the Uttarakhand first and second innings respectively claiming six wickets each. The host batsmen could not stand against Assam pacers and virtually surrendered meekly. In the first inning, resuming at their overnight total of 32 for four were bundled out for 121 in 42 overs. Mayank Mishra was the top scorer with 52 as other batsmen miserably failed to hit form.

Uttarakhand batsmenís poor run continued in the second innings too as barring skipper Unmukt Chand (41) no other could counter Mali and Hussain. Assam bowlers required only 35.2 overs to remove all the wickets.

Assam bagged seven points from this match and their total went up to 11 from four outings. It was their maiden victory in this season.


Assam 1st innings 294

Uttarakhand 1st innings (Overnight 32/4) UBT Chand c Jain b Mali 6, A Sethi c Saikia b Mali 12, VR Jethi lbw b AK Das 4, D Negi c Saikia b Mali 13, TM Srivastava lbw b Mali 0, SA Rawat lbw b Mali 9, RS Shah lbw b AK Das 0, Mayank Mishra c AK Das b Alam 52, Dhanraj Sharma lbw b Mali 4, Sunny Rana lbw b Parag 6, P Chamoli not out 0. Extras (b 8, lb 5, nb 1, w 1) 15; Total (all out in 42 overs) 121. Fall of wickets:†1-17, 2-22, 3-22, 4-22, 5-40, 6-45, 7-60, 8-64, 9-115, 10-121. Bowling: Arup Das 16-3-42-2, Ranjit Mali 17-10-24-6, Roshan Alam 2-0-7-1, Mukhtar Hussain 3-0-28-0, Riyan Parag 4-2-7-1.

Uttarakhand 2nd innings: UBT Chand c Saikia b Mali 41, A Sethi b Mali 9, TM Srivastava c Saikia b Mukhtar Hussain 14, D Negi c Saikia b Mukhtar Hussain 0, VR Jethi c Saikia b Mukhtar Hussain 0, SA Rawat b Mukhtar Hussain 0, Mayank Mishra not out 10, RS Shah b Mukhtar Hussain 1, Dhanraj Sharma lbw b Mukhtar Hussain 0, Sunny Rana b Mali 1, P Chamoli lbw b Mali 1. Extras (b 1, lb 6) 7; Total (all out in 35.2 overs) 83. Fall of wickets:†1-12, 2-53, 3-61, 4-69, 5-69, 6-73, 7-78, 8-78, 9-83, 10-83. Bowling: Arup Das 9-1-34-0, Ranjit Mali 14.2-7-27-4, Mukhtar Hussain 12-7-17-6.

City Ľ
State Ľ
Other Headlines Ľ
Sports Ľ