Guwahati, Saturday, January 2, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
All Assam marathon held
Staff correspondent
 DIBRUGARH, Jan 1 - The Madarkhat Sports Association today organised its 22nd Annual All Assam Marathon where 72 runners, including girls, took part in the 42 km run.

The event was flagged off from Madarkhat Girls School ground by eminent educationist and sportsperson Ajoy Gogoi at 5 am. The athletes had to run up to Dibrugarh town and then back to the venue to complete the 42 kms.

The top position holders in the men’s event are: Langsan Ali (Guwahati, 1st), Robin Das (Barpeta, 2nd), Sanjay Bhumij (Margherita, 3rd) and Jahadur Islam (Kamrup, 4th).

Among the girls, Mary Oraon of Nandanban Tea Estate stood first while Pallabi Oraon and Lakhi Tigga of Agnipathar became second and third respectively. Lalita Tirkey of Basmatia and Savitri Ekka of Singlijan grabbed the fourth and fifth positions respectively. The winners were given away cash prizes. Former Minister Prithibi Majhi; former Dean, Rajiv Gandhi University, Itanagar, Dr Shristidhar Dutta; president of the Lahoal Press Club, Konuj Saikia were present among others during the prize distribution ceremony.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »