Guwahati, Monday, February 21, 2011
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Nabajyoti down Bud CC to crown
Sports reporter
 GUWAHATI, Feb 20 – With a convincing three-wicket victory against host Bud Cricket Club, Nabajyoti Club clinched the title in the Bud T-20 Challenge Cricket Tournament for the Dhireswar Kalita Memorial Trophy.

In the summit clash at the Nehru Stadium here today, Bud were restricted to 136 for nine and in reply Nabajyoti smacked up 138 losing seven wickets.

Parvez Aziz of the winning team was named man-of-the-match for his match winning knock of unbeaten 44.

Sarupam Purkayashtha received the man-of-the-series trophy while his team mate Saurav Bhagawati was adjudged best batsman of the tournament. Mrigen Talukdar (GTC) and Navajyoti Hazarika (City CC) got the best bowler and best fielder awards respectively.

In the closing function, former SP Paresh Bordoloi was the chief guest. Dhireswar Kalita’s sons Dr Dibakar Kalita and Dibyajyoti Kalita along with a host of eminent sports personality were present on the occasion.

Brief scores: Bud CC 136/9 (Dhiraj Goswami 29, Sarupam Purkayastha 26, Rishab Das 22, Bhaskarjyoti Barman 2/22, Bikash Chetri 2/25, Chanakya Sarma 2/31). Nabajyoti 138/7 (Parvez Aziz 44, Parag Das 22, Dhiraj Goswami 3/31, Tarjinder Singh 2/12).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »