Guwahati, Saturday, February 16, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Newly-elected Jorhat Zila Parishad members take oath
 JORHAT, Feb 15 - Jorhat Development Commissioner Gitanjali Dutta, who is presently the deputy commissioner in-charge, today administered the oath to all the 19 newly-elected members of the Jorhat Zila Parishad at a function organised in the conference hall of the Deputy Commissioner’s office here.

 It may be mentioned here that the Congress party retained control of the Jorhat Zila Parishad by winning 12 seats. The ruling BJP had won 5 seats while the AGP managed two seats.

Hiren Hazarika from the Borholla Zila Parishad seat and Basabi Kalita Saikia, representing the Charigaon seat, both from the Congress party, were elected chairman and vice-chairperson of the Zila Parishad respectively, in the meeting.

The post of the vice-chairperson was reserved for woman candidate this time while the chairman’s post was unreserved. Dutta, in her address, urged the newly-elected members to rise above party affiliations and work together for carrying out development work in the areas under the Zila Parishad.

Jorhat Zila Parishad chief executive officer Debananda Das welcomed the gathering and mentioned about the objective of the function.

Congress MLA from Mariani Rupjyoti Kurmi, who was also present in the function, called upon all the members to work together for the betterment of the people of the 19 constituencies under the Parishad.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »