Guwahati, Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Goalpara ZPC members sworn in
 GOALPARA, Feb 12 - As per provisions of Section 70 of the 1994 Panchayati Raj Act, the Goalpara Zilla Parishad Council (ZPC) was constituted today where out of the total of 16 newly-elected ZPC members, 15 took the oath. The ZPC member from Jaleswar, Firoza Begum was absent today.

The Deputy Commissioner Varnali Deka administered the oath of office and secrecy to all the 15 elected ZPC members at the conference hall of the Deputy Commissioner’s office. Varnali Deka also congratulated all the newly-elected members and said that people at the grass root level have high hopes with regard to all development works from them.

ZPC member from Agia, Demjia Marak of the Congress has been elected as the ZPC president while the Sree Surjagiri ZPC member Sarifa Ahmed (independent) has been elected as the vice president. They were chosen from among the members after voting that took place after the oath taking ceremony.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »