Guwahati, Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Sonitpur Zilla Parishad members take oath
 TEZPUR, Feb 12 - The newly-elected members of the Sonitpur Zilla Parishad took oath in a meeting held at the Conference Hall of the Deputy Commissioner’s office today.

Deputy Commissioner Narsing Pawar chaired the meeting where the ADC and i/c CEO, Zilla Parishad KK Sarma and FAO Hiren Kalita were also present. The members were felicitated by the district administration and administered the oath of office.

Speaking on the occasion, Deputy Commissioner Narsing Pawar appealed to all the newly elected members to work together as a team to seek solutions to the problems of the common man and to ensure that all development schemes reach the poorest of the poor. He appealed to the members to also include the people of the process of development and act as people’s representatives in the true sense of the term. ADC and i/c CEO, Zilla Parishad KK Sarma asked the members to make good use of the funds meant for the development of the people and take development to the next level.

Dolly Surin was elected as the president and Marami Daimari as the vice-president of the 19-member body. Dolly Surin defeated her closest rival Swapnajyoti Bania by two votes. Altogether, three candidates were nominated for the post of president, the third one being Ritumoni Devi. Marami Daimari was elected uncontested to the post of vice-president.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »