Guwahati, Thursday, February 11, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Village Committee polls in Tripura on Feb 24
 AGARTALA, Feb 10 - A record number of 8,201 candidates belonging to CPM, Congress, BJP, IPFT and INPT are in the elections to the Village Committees of Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC).

The elections are scheduled to be held on February 24 while counting would begin on February 27, according to official sources.

Of the total candidates, the CPM has 3,655, highest in the VC elections while the IPFT has 1,739 aspirants in the upcoming VC elections. The BJP is not far behind with 983 candidates in the electoral fray, according to the latest report by the State Election Commission (SEC).

While the INPT has fielded 784 candidates, the main opposition Congress has fielded only 601 nominees. The CPM has already won 902 constituencies in 89 Village Committees uncontested, according to an official of SEC here on Wednesday.

Reports indicate the upcoming elections would be one-sided battle for the CPM as the opposition parties could not field candidates in maximum constituencies in the VCs.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »