Guwahati, Thursday, February 7, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
New Zealand crush India by 80 runs

New Zealand’s Tim Seifert plays a sweep shot in front of India’s MS Dhoni during the T20I in Wellington, on Wednesday. – AP/PTI
 WELLINGTON, Feb 6: A below-par India slumped to their worst ever defeat in T20 Internationals as New Zealand outclassed the visitors in all departments to win the first match of the series by a comprehensive 80-run margin here on Wednesday.

Batting first, unheralded keeper-batsman Tim Seifert took the Indian bowling apart blasting 84 off 43 balls as New Zealand posted a commanding 219 for six.

With the opening pair of skipper Rohit Sharma (1) and Shikhar Dhawan (29) departing within the Powerplay overs, the chase became a difficult one and India were all out for 139 in 19.2 overs.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (39 off 31 balls) did play his part but it was always an impossible chase with wickets falling at regular intervals at the other end. India had never lost a T20 International by 50 or more runs prior to this match. India’s previous worst was a 49-run loss to Australia back in 2010.

“We failed to get a good partnership. 200 was never going to be easy to chase,” said Rohit in the post-match presentation.

New Zealand bowlers kept the pressure on Indian batsmen, especially the two spinners – left-arm orthodox Mitchell Santner (2/24 in 4 overs) and leg-spinner Ish Sodhi (2/26 in 3 overs).

Senior pacer Tim Southee (3/17 in 4 overs) had the best figures among the bowlers and the best delivery of the match was bowled by Lockie Ferguson, who yorked Dhawan.

They kept the batsmen under tight check and for some like World Cup aspirant Rishabh Pant (4, 10 balls), it was a frustrating little stay in the middle and he simply couldn’t get going.

On a pitch where Indian spinners Yuzvendra Chahal (1/35 in 4 overs) and Krunal (1/37 in 4 overs) went for plenty, the Black Caps slow bowlers literally tightened the noose on the visitors.

While Pant didn’t do his chances any good, Vijay Shankar (27 off 17 balls) impressed during his little cameo but would need to do more in order to book a place in that World Cup bound squad.


New Zealand: Tim Seifert b Khaleel Ahmed 84, Colin Munro c Vijay Shankar b Krunal Pandya 34, Kane Williamson c Hardik Pandya b Chahal 34, Daryl Mitchell c Karthik b Hardik Pandya 8, Ross Taylor c Khaleel Ahmed b Bhuvneshwar 23, Colin de Grandhomme c (sub) Siraj b Hardik Pandya 3, Mitchell Santner not out 7, Scott Kuggeleijn not out 20. Extras: (lb-1, w-5) 6. Total: (For 6 wickets in 20 overs) 219. Fall of wickets: 1-86, 2-134, 3-164, 4-164, 5-189, 6-191. Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4-0-47-1, Khaleel Ahmed 4-0-48-1, Krunal Pandya 4-0-37-1, Hardik Pandya 4-0-51-2, Yuzvendra Chahal 4-0-35-1.

India: Rohit Sharma c Lockie Ferguson b Southee 1, Shikhar Dhawan b Lockie Ferguson 29, Vijay Shankar c de Grandhomme b Santner 27, Rishabh Pant b Santner 4, MS Dhoni c Lockie Ferguson b Southee 39, Dinesh Karthik c Southee b Ish Sodhi 5, Hardik Pandya c Daryl Mitchell b Ish Sodhi 4, Krunal Pandya c Seifert b Southee 20, Bhuvneshwar Kumar c Seifert b Lockie Ferguson 1, Yuzvendra Chahal b Daryl Mitchell 1, K Khaleel Ahmed not out 1. Extras: (lb-3, w-3, nb-1) 7. Total: (All out in 19.2 overs) 139. Fall of wickets: 1-18, 2-51, 3-64, 4-65, 5-72, 6-77, 7-129, 8-132, 9-136. Bowling: Tim Southee 4-0-17-3, Scott Kuggeleijn 2-0-34-0, Lockie Ferguson 4-0-22-2, Mitchell Santner 4-0-24-2, Daryl Mitchell 2.2-0-13-1, Ish Sodhi 3-0-26-2. – PTI

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »