Guwahati, Thursday, February 6, 2020
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Haryana post 7-wicket win against Assam
 GUWAHATI, Feb 5 - Hosts Haryana completed the Assam rout by seven wickets within two days in the four-day Elite Group C Ranji Trophy match at Rohtak today.

 Haryana finished their first innings at the overnight total of 198 and as a result Assam had to start their second innings from the morning session of day’s play. Like the first innings, Assam batsmen faltered again and were all out for 197 in 56.5 overs.

Barring young Saahil Jain (63 off 101 balls, 4x7, 6x1), skipper Gokul Sharma (44 off 86, 4x6), Riyan Parag (36 off 36, 4x3, 2x2) and Rajjakuddin Ahmed (23 off 21, 4x2), other batsmen were out before reaching double figures.

Medium pacer Harshal Patel picked up four wickets which virtually triggered Assam’s downfall.

Requiring 97 runs for victory in the second innings, Haryana smashed 100 losing just three wickets in 20 overs.

It was Assam’s third straight defeat in this season’s Ranji Trophy. It is high time for the Assam Cricket Association to think seriously about building a quality team where players have to play for pride and not only for money.


Assam 1st Innings: 97

Haryana 1st Innings: 198

Assam 2nd Innings: Subham Mandal c Sharma b AH Hooda 6, Kunal Saikia c HJ Rana b Chahal 0, Rishav Das lbw b Chahal 8, Gokul Sharma c Bishnoi b AH Hooda 44, Riyan Parag c Ankit Kumar b Bishnoi 36, Saahil Jain c AH Hooda b Patel 63, Rajjakuddin Ahmed b Patel 23, Mukhtar Hussain lbw b Yadav 5, Ranjit Mali not out 3, Sidharth Sarmah b Patel 0, Arup Das b Patel 1. Extras: (lb 1, w 7) 8. Total: (All out in 56.5 overs) 197. Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-21, 3-23, 4-78, 5-138, 6-188, 7-193, 8-193, 9-193, 10-197. Bowling: HV Patel 10.5-1-49-4, A Chahal 15-6-33-2, AH Hooda 11-1-35-2, J Yadav 14-2-58-1, C Bishnoi 6-1-21-1.

Haryana 2nd Innings (Target: 97 runs): SG Rohilla c Jain b Parag 16, Ankit Kumar c Ahmed b Sarmah 30, HJ Rana lbw b Sarmah 7, Shivam Chauhan not out 26, C Bishnoi not out 21. Extras: 0. Total: (For 3 wickets in 20 overs) 100. Fall of wickets: 1-33, 2-46, 3-55. Bowling: Arup Das 3-0-14-0, Ranjit Mali 2-0-8-0, Mukhtar Hussain 2-0-5-0, Sidharth Sarma 7-0-33-2, Riyan Parag 5-0-31-1, Gokul Sharma 1-0-9-0.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »