Guwahati, Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
4th biennial meet of Bhergaon Koch-Rajbongshi Sanmilani ends

General Secretary of AKRSU Ranjit Kumar Ray delivering a speech at the 4th biennial conference of Bhergaon Koch-Rajbongshi Sanmilani at Bengbari in Udalguri district, on Sunday. – Photo: Udalguri Correspondent
 UDALGURI, Feb 4 - The 4th biennial conference of Bhergaon Koch-Rajbongshi Mul, Yuva and Mahila Sanmilani concluded here at Bengbari in Udalguri district on Sunday.

 Speaking at the open session as the appointed speaker, the general secretary of All Koch-Rajbongshi Students’ Union (AKRSU), Ranjit Kumar Ray said, “the Koch-Rajbongshi community possesses a distinct language, attire and culture, including a rich-heritage and legacy.”

Ray, making a clarion call to the people of the community, stated that the community which assimilated themselves as Assamese in Assam, Bengali in West Bengal, Bihari in Bihar and Nepali in Nepal, should trace the roots of the Koch-Rajbongshis to the historic Kamatapur state. He further lamented the lackadaisical attitude of the successive governments in securing the rights of the community by granting ST status and Kamatapur state.

Attending the event as chief guest, Media Adviser to the Chief Minister of Assam, Hrishikesh Goswami exhorted the people to keep faith and patience in the government. He also recalled the stellar contributions of worthy sons of the soil like Jyoti Prasad Agarwalla, Bhupen Hazarika, Mamoni Raisom Goswami, among others. He concluded his speech by citing the famous lyrics of Paul Robson’s song – We are in the same boat brother.

Earlier, the open session was inaugurated by the president of All Koch-Rajbongshi Mahila Sanmilani, Chandra Singh Talukdar. Speaking on the occasion, she said, “Koch-Rajbongshis have been betrayed and offered only hollow promises by successive governments both in the state and at the Centre.”

The event was also attended by educationist Professor Binoy Kumar Medhi, Vice-President of AKRSU Dibyajyoti Deka, Bhergaon SDPO Nirmal Ghosh, among others.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »