Guwahati, Monday, February 2, 2015
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
News Live champs
Sports reporter

The jubilant News Live team celebrates after winning the TG Baruah memorial trophy at the Judges’ Field in Guwahati on Sunday. - UB Photos
 GUWAHATI, Feb 1 – News Live upset defending champions Asomiya Pratidin by 87 runs to emerge champions in the TG Baruah Memorial T20 Media Cricket Championship.

 In the summit clash at the Judges’ Field here today, News Live amassed 169 for four in the stipulated 20 overs and bundled out the opponent to 82 in 15.4 overs.

Pranjal Phukan top scored for the winning team with 48 while Abhijit Goswami and Anupam Mahanta contributed 44 and 25 respectively. For Pratidin Bidyut Kalita, Partiv Hazarika and Tauhid Ali Talukdar took one wicket each.

Barring Biswajit Deka (21) all the Pratidin batsmen fell cheaply as Abhishek Sinha (4/11), Dipen Dutta (3/13) and Pranjal Phukan (2/19) destroyed their innings. Pranjal Phukan and Anupam Mahanta (both News Live) were adjudged as man-of-the-match and man-of-the-series respectively.

Brief scores: News Live 169/4 (Pranjal Phukan 48, Abhijit Goswami 44, Anupam Mahanta 25). Pratidin 82 (Biswajit Deka 21, Abhishek Sinha 4/11, Dipen Dutta 3/13, Pranjal Phukan 2/19).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »