Guwahati, Tuesday, December 28, 2010
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Municipal elections in BTC districts next year
 KOKRAJHAR, Dec 27 – The BTC authority is set to hold municipality elections in all the municipal areas in the four districts of Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri under BTAD next year in October-November said Reo Reo Narzihary, executive member, Urban Development Department, BTC, here.

 In this regard, necessary work has been undertaken to hold these elections in time, he said adding that at present all the municipality areas in BTAD have been running with ad-hoc-committees.

Speaking at a function organised at the heart of Kokrajhar town by the Kokrajhar Municipality Board (KMB) in connection with the naming of Subharpally road in the name of a renowned social worker, Late Chunilal Brahmin for his great contribution towards development of Kokrajhar town in the historic past, Narzihary further said that BTC had been working out plans to expedite urban development in this region.

Inaugurating the Chunilal Brahmin Road, Hagrama Mohilary, chief of BTC reiterating the contribution of Chunilal Brahmin also requested to name a few other areas in the name of renowned personalities who have actively contributed to the development of Kokrajhar town with untiring efforts. A few senior citizens were also felicitated. Several dignitaries and MLA’s of BTC also attended the function.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »