Guwahati, Tuesday, December 26, 2017
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
8 Meghalaya MLAs to join NPP on Jan 4
Staff Correspondent
 SHILLONG, Dec 25 - The formal induction of eight legislators, from different political parties into National People’s Party, is scheduled on January 4 at a public rally at Polo Grounds here.

 Of the eight legislators, five including Prestone Tynsong, Rowell Lyngdoh, Comingone Ymbon, Sniawbhalang Dhar and Ngaitlang Dhar are from Congress. The other three include Stephanson Mukhim and Hopeful Bamon who are independent candidates, while Remington Pyngrope is from United Democratic Party.

The Congress legislators are quitting the party claiming that Chief Minister Mukul Sangma functions in a “dictatorial manner” and gives no space to others in the decision making process. Tynsong, Lyngdoh, Ymbon and S Dhar held Cabinet rank in the Sangma Government.

The January 4 rally would be a show of strength for the NPP, which is considered weak in Khasi-Jaintia Hills. It would give the party the necessary boost ahead of the Assembly elections early next year.

The NPP has chalked out a unique formula during this election. The party has announced it would select the Chief Ministerial candidate from whichever region bags the highest number of seats.

Late PA Sangma’s son and NPP legislator, James Sangma from Dadenggre constituency in Garo Hills is a strong candidate for the CM’s post. Tynsong from Pynursla in Khasi Hills is the other candidate who can potentially be the CM if the party wins on expected lines in Khasi-Jaintia Hills.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »