Guwahati, Tuesday, December 26, 2017
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Sahitya Sabha unit convention held
Staff Reporter
 GUWAHATI, Dec 25 - The 21st annual convention of Brihattar Panjabari Sahitya Sabha (BPSS) was held at the Baghorbori Provincialised HE School with a daylong programme on Sunday.

 Veteran journalist DN Chakravartty unfurled the Sabha flag, after which the events ‘Kuhi’, ‘Ramdhenu’ and ‘Akash’ were held.

The open session was held at 2 pm, followed by a book release function. Dharanidhar Goswami released the BPSS mouthpiece Patrika. The meeting was inaugurated by the newly elected president of the Kamrup Mahanagar Zila Sahitya Sabha, Mrinalini Devi. Jugalbandi, a short story collection by Ruma Rajkhowa, was released by Prabhat Goswami.

Writer Sewali Goswami who had donated the first floor of her residence to be used as the BPSS office, was felicitated by BPSS and Asam Sahitya Sabha. Sahitya Akademi winner Jayanta Madhav Bora who hails from the locality, was also felicitated.

Prof Surendra Mohan Mahanta and BPSS general secretary Mafizuddin Ahmed also addressed the meeting.

The meeting, presided over by Nagen Bhuyan, also formally announced the newly elected 24-member executive body with Dr Bijoy Krishna Deva Sarma and Hiralal Bora as president and general secretary respectively.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »