Guwahati, Saturday, December 15, 2018
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Half of the new Mizoram MLAs are first timers

 AIZAWL, Dec 14 - Half of the newly-elected legislators in the Mizoram Assembly are first time MLAs.

The Mizo National Front (MNF) which bagged 26 seats in the Assembly election has 14 first time legislators.

Five out of the eight Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) legislators are also first time MLAs.

Of the five Congress MLAs, one will be a new entrant to the 40-member House.

Among the 20 first-time legislators is T J Lalnuntluanga of MNF who defeated outgoing Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla from Champhai South seat.

Ramthanmawia and Dr ZR Thiamsanga, both from the MNF, won from East Tuipui and Champhai North seats respectively in Champhai district. They are the senior-most first time MLAs, aged 61 years and 60 years respectively.

Robert Romawia Royte of MNF, who defeated Finance Minister Lalsawta, is a prominent first-time winner.

The other first timers included C Lalmuanpuia of MNF (Aizawl North-III), who defeated Lal Thanhawla’s younger brother and PWD Minister Lal Thanzara and VL Zaithanzama of ZPM who trounced the MNF leader and opposition group leader Vanlalzawma in Aizawl West III seat. – PTI

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »