Guwahati, Monday, December 07, 2015
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
ASPL cash awards distributed
Sports reporter

Former England World Cupper Peter Shilton being felicitated by Assam Football Association president HN Brahma (L) and secretary Ankur Dutta at the Assam State Premier League award function, in Guwahati on Sunday. – UB Photos
 GUWAHATI, Dec 6 - The cash awards of the Assam State Premier League (ASPL) were distributed in a function held here today.

The function was organised by the Assam Football Association (AFA) in collaboration with the sponsor Celebrity Management Group (CMG) to distribute the cash awards to the ASPL teams as well as individual players. AFA president Hemendra Nath Brahma, secretary Ankur Dutta, former Indian international Subhash Bhowmick and CMG official Bhaswar Goswami were also present on the occasion along with England World Cupper Peter Shilton.

Goswami while thanking Shilton, AFA and participating teams said, although they have lost Rs 60 lakh for holding the maiden edition of the ASPL this year, they are committed to continue the event in the years to come. He offered his special thank to Ankur Dutta for his effort in hosting the championship.

Welcoming the gathering Dutta gave details about the maiden edition of the ASPL and thanked all the participating teams for their co-operation. He hopes that the championship will be organised in a better way in the near future. Brahma said, the AFA will leave no stone unturned in holding the ASPL in a befitting manner so that the State can get new talents.

The prize winners were: Champion team-Karbi Anglong Morning Star (Rs 5.75 lakh), runners-up-FC Green Valley (Rs 4.4 lakh), Barhoonkha AC, Kokrajhar (Rs 2.8 lakh), Tezpur United (Rs 2.1 lakh), Trinayanjyoti FC, Dibrugarh (Rs 1.5 lakh), Best coach-L Kamalakanta Singh (KA Morning Star, Rs 20,000), Highest scorer-Orok Orok Essien (KA Morning Star, Rs 20,000), Man of the tournament-Sibra Narzary (KA Morning Star, Rs 20,000), Best goalkeeper-Mulya rabha (Moran TC, Rs 20,000), Best defender-Maneswar Musahary (FC Green Valley, Rs 15,000), Best midfielder-Lalding Sang Podame (KA Morning Star, Rs 15,000), Best U-20 player-Sonom Lepcha (Trinayanjyoti, Rs 15,000), Best catchment player-Ashok Brahma (Baarhoonka, Rs 15,000), Best overseas player-Sunday Ogar Ayuk (Trinayanjyoti, Rs 15,000), Man of the final-Micheal lucky (FC Green Valley, Rs 15,000).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »