Guwahati, Saturday, December 3, 2011
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Kareem gives Wayhingdoh Bordoloi Trophy
Sports reporter
 GUWAHATI, Dec 2 – Two deadly swerving shots off set pieces by Royal Wayhingdoh Football Club defender Kareem Omliaja enabled his team to lift the Bharat Ratna Lokapriya Bordoloi Trophy.

In the final of the 60th edition of the championship at the Nehru Stadium here this evening, Wayhingdoh edged past their Shillong league mate Langsning Football Club 2-1.

Kareem netted both the goals for the winning team with eye catching shots from 25 yards.

It was, however Langsning which went ahead in the very fifth minute of the match when Wayhingdoh goalkeeper Saroj Pradhan misjudged a flighted ball off a feeble kick taken by Yinka Joel Sunday. As Saroj fumbled in gathering the ball, PK Ningleithing pushed home.

But the Wayhingdoh players, who were fast in exchanging the ball staged a smart fightback and created several openings.

In the 37th minute, Kareem beautifully swerved the ball to the far post which beat Langsning custodian Tharngachan Tungshang and bulged the net for the equaliser.

In the second session, no team could break the deadlock and as a result, referee Dipak Dey had to prolong the match to extra 30 minutes.

Wayhingdoh again got a free kick in the 97th minute and Kareem hit the target using his shooting skill.

It was a well contested encounter and several moves were made by either sides. But the winning team muffed off some easy sitters, particularly in the first session. Wayhingdoh striker Jackychand Singh missed from hand shaking distance in the 30th minute. But credit should be given to Langsning defender Samuel Kane Arhu who made goal line shave on that occasion.

Langsning goalkeeper Tharngachan was adjudged best goalkeeper of the tournament by the organisers Guwahati Sports Association while Assam Sports Journalists’ Association’s best player award was handed over to Wayhingdoh skipper I Seityasen Singh.

Ankur Dutta, Bolin Bordoloi, Umesh Sharma, Bishnuram Nunisa gave away the trophies in the closing function.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »